Losing a loved one due to a car accident is something that no-one should ever have to go through. Knowing that the irresponsible actions of another person could have caused the death of your loved one can feel like too much to bear.
It is important that you take the time to grieve your loved one before taking legal action to get justice. However, if you feel that you are in a place where you would like to honor your loved one by making sure that justice is done, you may want to start understanding how the law works in Texas.
What are the types of vehicular homicide and manslaughter charges in Texas?
There are three main types of homicide and manslaughter charges related to driving. If the driver was found to be intoxicated at the time of the collision, they may be charged with intoxication manslaughter. This is usually charged as a second degree felony, and can come with jail time of up to 20 years.
If a person was found to have acted negligently and their actions led to the death of a person, they may be charged with criminally negligent homicide. This can lead to up to two years in a state jail.
Finally, a driver might be charged with manslaughter if they were reckless in their driving and should have known that they were putting another person’s life in danger. This conviction can lead to a maximum jail time of 20 years.
If you want to get justice for your loved one, you may want to learn more about how the law applies to the particular situation that your loved one was involved in.